Goodbye 2020!

01/12/2020 21:08

Inspiration 2

With 2020 coming to a close, and it having been quite a difficult year for a lot of folk out there, I thought I'd revisit the topic of inspiration. I've said it before and I'll say it again, inspiration comes in many forms. If you want to see what has already inspired me head back to the previous inspiration mentions Welcome to 2018!

Everything I listed previously is still important to me, but I wanted to pick out and name a few new different places on the internet I have found myself hanging out over the past few years.

Honourable Mentions from the Internet

Graeme Davis's Blog is a catalogue of interesting articles and is a must for finding inspiration. It covers such a diverse range of topics it is always worth checking out.

Royal Road is where up and coming authors can post their works. Like I said in my last inspiration piece, sometimes a story can provide you with the spark of inspiration you need. If you don't get inspiration from Royal Road, at least you will enjoy the stories.

Black Magic Craft is a youtube channel centred on making terrain for all sorts of games. I like both Jeremy's style and also his approach to crafting. I'd highly recommend you check him out.

Miniac is a youtube channel centred on everything around painting miniatures. I'm nowhere in the same league of Scott when it comes to painting miniatures, but if you want some down to earth, tell it like it is miniature painting you can't get better than The Miniature Maniac.

Old World Podcast is a website and podcast focusing on Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay (4th Edition). This is my new favourite podcast for all things Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay.

GM Word of the Week is a website and podcast all about words. Words for your games, what more could you want? A fantastic resource and well worth taking a look.

 

It's funny that even though 2020 has been a terrible year, and we are not venturing out as much (I miss visiting my gaming club) I really really haven't been on social media as much I have been in previous years. I don't believe that social media is as social as it's made out to be and the cynic in me will tell you it's all marketing and advertising rather than anything to do with community, but the one place I have found myself lurking about these days is on Discord. Most games and groups have a dedicated Discord server and on the whole I like these (a little bit more) than other social media platforms and social media sites. I originally joined Discord so I could keep up with news and information on Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay, but since joining that initial server, I have joined and contributed to quite a few others. I now have a regular gaming night on Discord every two weeks.

 

Take what inspires you and run with it!

 

J